President Buhari Reconstitutes new board of NNPC, refused to name chairman


President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the reconstitution of the board of the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC).

According to a statement by Femi Adesina, special adviser to the president, the reconstitution comes after the expiration of the term of the board members appointed in 2016.

Members of the new board are Mohammed Lawal (north west), Tajudeen Umar (north east), Adamu Mahmood Attah (north central), Magnus Abe (south south), Stephen Dike (south east), and Pius Akinyelure (south west).

Akinyelure, former national vice chairman of the All Progressives Congress, south west zone, returns as the representative of his zone.

The new board will be in place for three years.

Adesina’s statement did not state who would serve as the board’s chairman.

Emmanuel Ibe Kachikwu, former minister of state for petroleum resources, served as the board chairman from 2016.

He was replaced by John Asuquo Thomas, who served as alternate chairman, until Timipre Sylva was appointed as minister of state.

However, Sylvia has not been officially announced as the board chairman.

Thomas was the first managing director of the Eleme (Indorama) Petrochemical Company where he led the team that negotiated the financing of the Eleme Project.

He also served as NNPC GMD and voluntarily retired in 1992.

Credit: the cable

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: